1978 Chamber music percussion instruments

Five Scenes from the Snow Country

for marimba solo
Commissioned by Michiko Takahashi

Year of composition 1978
Duration 12 minutes

I Mysteriously, tempo of a funeral march
II Very fast
III Very slowly, extremely quiet, whispering
IV Allegretto (with grace, no rush)
V Andante cantabile

World premiere

World premiere 12. october 1982

Stuttgart · Süddeutscher Rundfunk · „Atelier Hans Werner Henze“

Marimba Peter Sadlo