Vocal pieces 1983

Orpheus behind the Wire

Poems by Edward Bond

For 8– to 12–part mixed chorus a cappella (SSS AAA TTT BBB)

Year of composition 1981-83
Duration 17 minutes

I What was hell like?
II The point to be noted
III You who survived
IV It was changed
V Orpheus

To Michael Kerstan in memory of Tanglewood 1983

World premiere

World premiere 10. September 1985

Southhampton · International New Music Week

BBC Singers
Conductor John Alldis