Chamber music String instruments 1977

Sonata for violin solo

Period of composition 1976-77
Revised version 1992
Duration 14 minutes

Dedicated to Salvatore Sciarrino

I Tirsi
II Mopso
III Aristeo

World premiere

World premiere 10. August 1977

Montepulciano · 2° Cantiere Internazionale d’Arte

Violin Jenny Abel


This piece concerns the three shepherds in the prologue of the “Favola d’Orfeo” (1480) by Angelo Ambrogini, known as Politian. Its final movement describes the death of Euridice, of which the shepherds are the cause.

Hans Werner Henze