Orchestral and ensemble works 1950 1990

The Vocal Scarf of the Primadonna Rosa Silber (Das Vokaltuch der Kammersängerin Rosa Silber)

Exercise with Stravinsky

Ballet music on a painting by Paul Klee
Commissioned by RIAS Berlin

Year of composition 1950
Revised version 1990

Duration 18 minutes

Dedicated to Boris Blacher

I Introduction
II Pas d'action
III Deux variations
IV Intermède
V Pas de deux
VI Conclusion

World premiere

World premiere 8. May 1951

Berlin · Titania Palast, Rias-Sonderkonzert

Conductor Ferenc Fricsay


World premiere of the Revision 14. January 1991

London · Barbican Hall

Parnassus Ensemble
Conductor Hans Werner Henze


1 Ottavino
1 Flauto
1 Oboe
1 Corno inglese
1 Clarinetto
2 Fagotti
2 Corni
2 Trombe
2 Tromboni
1 Tuba
PercussionePiatto sospeso piccolo
Piatti a due
Tamburo piccolo
[per 1]