1991 Orchestral and ensemble works

Three Mozart Organ Sonatas (Drei Mozartsche Orgelsonaten)

For 14 players
Commissioned by the Alte Oper Frankfurt am Main

Year of composition 1991
Duration 14 minutes

For Majella and Pit

World premiere

World premiere 19. september 1991

Frankfurt am Main · Frankfurt Feste · Mozartsaal der Alten Oper

Scharoun Ensemble Berlin

Conductor Oliver Knussen


This arrangement is based on the Sonatas KV 336d in C major, KV 67 in E flat major and KV 328 in C major.

Hans Werner Henze


1 Flauto contralto
1 Flauto basso
1Oboe d’amore
1 Corno inglese
1 Clarinetto basso
1 Fagotto
1 Arpa
1 Chitarra
1 Viola d’amore
2 Viole
2 Violoncelli
1 Contrabbasso